CICA Distinguished Service Award

Awarded for the first time in 2006, the CICA Distinguished Service Award was created to recognize individuals or organizations who have made significant contributions to advancing the captive insurance industry. Click here to nominate a colleague for the award.

Previous Distinguished Service Award Recipients:
ECIROA_web2018: European Captive Insurance and Reinsurance Owners' Association(ECIROA)
2017: Karin Landry
2016: P. Bruce Wright
2015: Ian Kilpatrick
2014: Mike Lusk
2013: Gerald C. Yoshida
2012: Dan Labrie
2011: Michael R. Mead
2010: International Center for Captive Insurance Education (ICCIE)
2009: Kathryn A. Westover
2008: Thomas M. Jones
2007: Leonard D. Crouse, CFE
2006: Hugh Rosenbaum 

CICA Outstanding Captive Award

Awarded for the first time in 2007, The CICA Outstanding Captive Award was created to recognize creative uses of a captive or risk retention group. Click here to nominate a captive or risk retention group for the award.

Previous Outstanding Captive Award Recipients:

2018: Energy Insurance Services, Inc. (EIS)
2017: Fiat Lux Risk and Insurance Company
2016: Pleiades Insurance Co., Ltd.
2015: Three Rivers Insurance Company
2014: Snap-on SecureCorp Global Companies
2013: The Caribbean Catastrophe Risk Insurance Facility
2012: Agrinational Insurance Company
2011: The National Catholic Risk Retention Group, Inc.
2010: Exchange Indemnity Company, Verizon's Primary Insurance Captive
2009: Raffles Insurance Ltd.
2008: Housing Authority Insurance Group, a Risk Retention Group
2007: STICO Mutual Insurance Company, a Risk Retention Group

View the full descriptions of the CICA Awards.

Read about our 2018 Award Winners

Energy Insurance Services and the European Captive Insurance and Reinsurance Owners’ Association Receive Captive Industry’s Highest Honors

Mar 12, 2018
SCOTTSDALE, ARIZONA ─ At its annual International Conference today the Captive Insurance Companies Association (CICA) honored Energy Insurance Services, Inc., (EIS) with the CICA 2018 Outstanding Captive Award and the European Captive Insurance and Reinsurance Owners’ Association (ECIROA) with the CICA Distinguished Service Award. 

The Outstanding Captive Award is presented to a captive insurance company or risk retention group that has shown creative uses for a captive, been successful in managing the captive in terms of net results and usefulness to its owners, has prevailed over difficult times or situations, and has gained acceptance, recognition, and a positive reputation among rating agencies, regulators and colleagues in the captive industry.
Energy Insurance Services, Inc. (EIS) was created 26 years ago to provide member companies of Energy Insurance Mutual with access to solutions to address a broad range of risk management challenges. 

Today the EIS cell captive has become an essential risk mitigation tool for member companies. EIS provides a cost-effective vehicle that enables them to tailor specific risk management solutions to complement their overall corporate insurance programs, whether it is managing self-insured retentions, carving out hard to place or cost-prohibitive coverages, or simply better managing specific risks associated with company operations. 

EIS has over 15 mutual business programs with lines of insurance ranging from workers compensation, general liability, property and employee benefits, to terrorism, wildfire and cyber liability. Today EIS has cumulative cell assets of $1.4 billion, aggregate written premium of more than $200 million and collective surplus in excess of $140 million, making it one of the largest sponsored captive insurance companies in the state of South Carolina.

“Receiving this prestigious award is confirmation that the concept of innovative, flexible and prescribed solutions, such as those provided by captive insurance, must form an essential part of any company’s insurance and risk mitigation strategy. CICA has long been a leader in identifying and sharing groundbreaking concepts designed to effectively and efficiently manage risk. EIS and its members are pleased to be recognized by CICA and hope to continue the tradition highlighted in the 2018 CICA conference theme of embracing and meeting the ‘Challenge of Change,’” said Tommy Bolton, EIS chief financial officer.

The CICA Distinguished Service Award is presented annually, when appropriate, to a single individual or entity that has made a significant contribution to the captive insurance industry.     
eciroaThe European Captive Insurance and Reinsurance Owners’ Association (ECIROA) has been a leading advocate for captives across Europe since its formation just 10 years ago. From its very early days, ECIROA’s leaders reached out to CICA to discuss collaborating on efforts to protect the captive industry.

ECIROA’s voice and lobbying efforts were essential to protecting the captive insurance community in the Solvency II discussions. The organization also works extensively with supervisory and regulatory bodies such as European Insurance and Occupational Pensions Authority, the International Association of Insurance Supervisors and the Organization for Economic Development and Cooperation or OECD. In addition to providing comments to OECD whenever the opportunity arose, CICA and ECIROA developed a guidance document for captive owners and managers to help them in addressing the OECD Action Plan on Base Erosion and Profit Shifting. 

The cornerstone of ECIROA’s educational efforts is their co-sponsorship of the biennial European Captive Forum, with the next conference in November 2018. 

“ECIROA is very appreciative of this award. We are fully committed to continue with the work we have done so far to support the best interest of all captives, but especially to our members which have given us their direct mandate as global players in industry, commerce, trade and finance,” said Udo Kappes, chairman of ECIROA.